Skip to content

Happy New Year!!!

January 1, 2011

Happy New Year!!!

I hope you had a wonderful new year and that you’re not having to nurse a head ache or a poorly tummy as you read this.

I thought, to kick off 2011 I’d share with you my resolutions. There may be one or two you’d like to borrow yourself, or it may help you to start your list. I’d also like to share them with you so you can help me stick to them over the next twelve months, as I’m sure you’ll agree one’s firm resolve in January can often wither to a slightly guilty feeling in March when one finds one’s self falling short.

I’d like this year to be different for all of us though. Let’s choose resolutions we’re confident we can achieve and all share them with family and friends so we can keep one another to them. And, most importantly, let’s not feel horrible if there are some we don’t quite manage, but congratulate one another next December on the one’s we’ve completed and succeeded in!

So, without further a do, here are mine:

  1. I have never been a “phone person”, I only ever phone people to arrange to meet or ask/answer a specific question. Although I don’t think this in itself is very terrible it has meant that I’ve lost touch with friends that it breaks my heart not have in my life anymore. Overcoming my dislike of phone conversations will be the means to the end of reconnecting with those neglected friends.
  2. Being a floaty, creativey type at heart I don’t think I’m short of ideas, whether they be for business endeavors or thoughtful gifts for friends, however I do often lack the umph to put them into practice. This year I’m going to try to combine the nerdy, logical, better-at-time-management side of myself with the good-ideas bit, and actually put some of the things in my mind into practice.
  3. I want to be a fully fledged, experienced iphone app developer this year, with a good few apps under my belt and in the app store by the end of 2011. I know this is terribly nerdy, but I’ve realised over this past year that I really do love coding, it’s the combination of the creative and the mathsy logic that I love. Plus the fact that I can develop an app beginning to end because they’re not massive websites or bloaty pieces of software is a massive bonus! I might blog a category devoted to the nerdy stuff, so if you’re interested in programming do keep checking up on me. I’ll try to include some helpful hints and tips as I go, so you can learn from my mistakes rather than having to make them yourselves.
  4. I’d like to get closer to my goal of self-sufficiency this year. In 2009 we dug over our whole garden to plant veggies and fruit trees, and our drive is covered with an orchard of potted apple and pear trees. This year I’d like to get some chickens, and possibly start the hunt for a little small holding. I think 2012 will be the year for the pig!
  5. As an extension of our foody self-sufficiency I’d like to become less wasteful with my wardrobe and get stitching and swishing , sewing and swapping to keep my clothes interesting and up to date, rather than shopping, shopping, shopping and wasting the pig-fund!

Well I think that may be enough to be going on with. I’ve another two or three floating around the old brain as I type, but I don’t want to bore you! Maybe I’ll pop a reminder in my diary to take a look at these again in June – give you an update on how I’m doing and maybe add some more if there’s any I can cross off.

I’ll sign off with a last encouragement to make at least one resolution this first of Jan and with my very very best wishes for 2011, I hope that what ever you put your hand to this year will prosper and that this will be the year of break through for you in anything you’ve struggled with previously!

Happy happy happy New Year!!!

Liz

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. emily permalink
    January 2, 2011 1:16 am

    you lovely little sausage liz… i hope the phone resolution means getting skype and maybe catching up with an old pemba roommate? 🙂 and thats awesome you’re going food self-sufficient. i’d love to do that, and one day, when we have our own house and land, paulo and i will do that. keep writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

